Technology and Me

I was reading Shweta’s blog post earlier today about how technology can seize you and burn you down eventually. She recommends that one cuts off from social networking on all devices for some time everyday and do more meaningful things in life.

While I have always considered technology a blessing to mankind, I agree that technology (excessive, unnecessary social networking, rather) is just a waste of time and is tiring. We can now access all mails, chat options, social networking sites – everything – from our cell phones. And so, we are hooked on.

I am, for sure. I access mail, Watsapp, Hangout, WordPress, Facebook, etc, on my cell phone. My hand automatically picks up my phone every few minutes to check for notifications. Even though I know nothing would have come in, I still tend to check. I just end up with a headache by the time half the day is over.

When I switch on my laptop, I actually have nothing specific to check. Because I have seen and accessed everything already.

Sometimes, I feel like uninstalling apps like FB and WordPress from my cell phone. It makes no sense checking them 20 times a day. Moreover, there is no surprise element left when I start my laptop at the end of the day! I’d rather have the joy of checking lot of notifications and mails at the end of the day rather than browsing through apps aimlessly and getting frustrated.

But, I will not uninstall the apps completely because sometimes you really need to update or share something with your readers or friends and family at a moment and you need to do so right then. Delaying would dissolve the essence. This is one of the reasons why I love technology. Well, why I love technology calls for another blog post.

What do you think? Technology is really a blessing?

This is what I wore for errands running. What do you think of errands, by the way? Another debate, huh?

Casual outfit

Casual outfit 3

casual outfit 4

Casual outfit 1

Casual outfit 2

casual outfit 5

Tank top: Clothes Rack

Skirt: Bangkok

Flats: Target

Bangles: Fabindia

Necklace: Gifted

Tote: Need I say??

7 thoughts on “Technology and Me

  1. shwetajoshi

    Thanks for mention. Albeit slowly, I’m moving away from my obsession of checking up on everything, every hour. Hope you could do it too. May be, we can do it together? Suggest.
    Did I mention that your flats look amazingly attractive?

    Reply
    1. NS Post author

      Thanks!

      I am still so far from it! Every time I pick up my phone, my mind screams noooo ddoontttt. But na, who listens??

      Reply
      1. shwetajoshi

        Hahaha, happens with me too. I’m trying to practice restraint orders on my time with phone.

    1. NS Post author

      Thanks!

      I agree. Had it not been for technology, I wouldn’t have met other talented people and learnt from them…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

