When Shopping Is Not Fun

Last weekend, we shopped like crazy for our upcoming India visit. It feels heavy to think about the amount of money we spent. But what sinks my heart really really low is that I did not buy a thing for myself. Imagine, browsing through clothes whole day and not touching anything that you like. This was the biggest sacrifice I can make. Ever. The biggest self control exercise. Seriously.

And it so happens that when you are focused and go to buy things for other people, you end up liking and wanting so many things for yourself. This is so unfair, testing a shopaholic’s  will power!

I kept telling myself not to get carried away by materialistic things like stuffing your wardrobe with too many clothes and shoes, that there are so many other joys in life that do not involve shopping, that I should not be getting carried away by all those fashion magazines and blogs. But you know, the world is materialistic at the end of the day! You need money and things for everything!

You socialize, you meet people, you take gifts for them. You visit relatives, you gift them things they like. Gifting brings about joy but gifts are material things made possible with money!

It’s all about money, honey.

All that philosophy and rant apart, I ended up buying a few things for myself yesterday. Hee hee! I was purely lucky to have chanced upon those things on the clearance rack saving myself of the obvious guilt feeling.

I am so excited to go to India in December! In Dec, it will be a year since I left India. I have missed everyone back home so much. Not just people, but the shops, the roads, the food, the restaurants, the clothes – everything.

Time for the outfit now..

Fusion forever

san jose fashion blog

Fusion forever

san jose fashion blog

san jose fashion blog

6 thoughts on “When Shopping Is Not Fun

  1. Pingback: Festive Season Bliss | Everything Fusion

  2. Pingback: Good Things Have Happened | Everything Fusion

Leave a Reply

